​      Scott Billington

In the studio with Bobby Rush

Scott and engineer Steve Reynolds have just completed work on Bobby Rush's new album, Porcupine Meat, which will be released by Rounder Records on September 22, 2016. In photo, at The Parlor Recording Studio in New Orleans (L-R): Vasti Jackson, Scott Billington, Shane Theriot, Bobby Rush, David Torkanowsky, Jeffrey "Jellybean" Alexander, Cornell Willlams.

Scott is the recipient of the 

Slim Harpo Music Ambassador Award

On June 23 at the Varsity Theatre in Baton Rouge, Scott received the Slim Harpo Ambassador Award-- quite an honor for someone who learned every Slim Harpo harmonica lick as a teenager in Boston. Also receiving awards were guitarist L'il Buck Senegal (The Slim Harpo Music Legend Award) and saxophonist Paula Rangell (The Slim Harpo Pioneer Award). Perhaps the best part of the event will be the music– Scott will perform with the above musicians, pianist Henry Gray and others.


I am thrilled to announce that Bobby Rush's Porcupine Meat has been nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Traditional Blues Album. Making this album and working with Bobby was one of the highlights of my career. Every musician on the record-- Vasti Jackson, David Torkanowsky, Shane Theriot, Jeffery 'Jellybean' Alexander, Cornell Williams, Kirk Joseph, Jeff Albert, Khari Allen Lee, Roger Lewis, Jeff Watkins, Barney Floyd, Johnette Downing and Charles Elam-- brought his or her best to the sessions, and we had the great pleasure of recording at The Parlor Recording Studio in New Orleans. My longtime musical partner, engineer Steve Reynolds, delivered an incredible sounding record, assisted by Matt Grondin and Nick Guttman. Onward to the Grammys we go!

Bobby Rush wins a Grammy nomination

A Few Songs


Scott Billington is a record executive, musician, writer and Grammy® winning producer who has worked with many of the greatest artists in American roots music, pictured here with Ruth Brown (Barbara Roberds photo).​

American Roots Music Producer